Apologue #26: My MOH Speech

I made this particular MOH speech for my best friend about two years ago at her wedding. It was my first speech as a MOH and I feel that I did a good job weaving in our story as I was also blessing the couple. I had this written down on paper for the longest time and now it’s all crumpled and hard to read from wear and tear, folding and unfolding repeatedly. Before I can no longer read what I wrote or remember what I said, my blog can be the perfect place to write it down so I can always remember.

The couple’s two year anniversary is actually coming up and I also got to spend some time with them over the Thanksgiving holidays, which brought me back to the moment of their wedding and what they both mean to me. Seeing them happy together is the best any friend can wish for and so, I’m happy to share this moment in word.

“I have known Nicole for eighteen years . . . eighteen years and still counting! And over those eighteen years, never would I have thought, that we would be this close and to have come so far in our journey together. We have been in each other’s lives for as long as I can remember. We have been through thick and thin, good times and the bad, sympathy and sorrow, laughter and the love.

From scraping our knees at the jungle gym and all the way to first boyfriends, broken hearts, sadness and regrets; we have fought through them all and stayed strong with each other. Even when we were no longer in the same place, our friendship and our bond of love that we have for one another is so strong that no matter what, we were able to maintain our friendship and keep that bond from ever severing.

My friendship with her is truly one of the most cherish-able and treasured assets that I have in my life, and I say this now in hopes that if she didn’t know, she knows it now . . .

Nicole, you have always been my friend, my sister, and my person.

Now, Bill, I have only known for a short period of time . . . I’d say about two and a half years going on to three years.

Surprisingly, I have never told Nicole about this because I knew that one day, this day would come where I would get a chance to confess of how I had already known that Bill was the perfect person for her.

To be honest, I knew it the very first day that I had met Bill . . .  We had just finished a game of Scrabble (it’s Nicole’s and my favorite board game) and Nicole had just left the room. It was right then when Bill turned to me and said these words that I could never ever forget . . .

He said to me, ‘Love. Thank you so much for being Nicole’s friend. Thank you for caring for her and loving her, long before I came along. I just wanted you to know how thankful I am.’

And those words hit me strong and hard; that he was truly the one person that God has blessed my friend to be with forever and I just knew instantly, that I couldn’t be wrong.

Bill, now it’s my turn to thank you for loving and caring for my sweet girl. I know deeply in my heart that you love her very much and I can truly see how happy she is for you being a great part in her life.

Everywhere that I look and from everyone that I meet, I can tell how this couple is truly blessed. Everyone genuinely loves this couple and I can see great things in toll for the future of these two people and I know, that God will bless them with much grace and love.

I wouldn’t want to be anywhere else, than to be here today, to bless these two and to see them embark on a wonderful new journey together as one under God.

Ladies and Gentlemen, as we lift our glasses, cheers to the happy couple! I love you both!”

— My Maid of Honor Speech to the Happy Couple on December 3, 2011

3 thoughts on “Apologue #26: My MOH Speech

  1. Pingback: Apologue #27: My Best Friend’s Wedding | love o'clock

Post Love Letters

