Apologue #15: Fester Chester

Oh lord, we are all Fester.

Before asking someone out we all get anxiety attacks and start panicking to know if what we’re doing is the right thing at the right time, and this part with Fester couldn’t have summed up my feelings any better. I’ve had the gutsy-ness to ask a nice gentleman out once last year. We have been flirting back and forth for months but he would never officially ask me out due to whatever unknown fears or problems he had and so I did, for him. It was funny because we were already having a small coffee date together and just enjoying each other’s company and I don’t know what came over me. It could have been the caffeine or maybe the fact that my patience was running dry, I literally just spat it out with confidence that I have no idea where it came from and said (I kid you not), “You should go out on a date with me some time. I guarantee you that you won’t regret it.” and flashed him a silly smile awaiting his response. Guarantee? Where did that come from? Oh my goodness . . .

I know his answer wasn’t delayed for too long but after his small laughter from spitting out his coffee from the sudden shock and actually responding back, those small seconds until I got the okay felt like hours. After I asked him out my mind was out of control and I was sitting there smiling with a smile that felt like it’s been screwed on by a bolt, and I’m screaming on the inside – yelling at myself – “What the hell was that and where did it come from? Oh my goodness, I’m not this kind of woman, what is he going to think of me? This is so embarrassing, should I laugh and say it was a joke?” I’m telling you, I wasn’t even thinking about whether he would say yes or no, but dreading how everything will unfold and if we could even be on talking premises after this awkward situation. I could already feel my heart-rate elevating as my chest was heaving heavy intakes of breath and I could feel my cheeks flushing to the color of ripe tomatoes from the heat I was already feeling.

I was fortunate enough though, that the man was indeed interested in me at the least, and so gave me a thumbs up and we were planning out our first real date. But even during our date I was so nervous. I felt so empowered and devilish when I literally spit out that he wasn’t going to regret going out with me (I don’t even know where that bit came from!) that I was even more cautious and trying hard to be excitable so it would feel that his time with me was worthwhile.

If I was providing him with the good time that I promised with him of not regretting this time we are sharing together in order to develop closer feelings to one another, that is always the best case scenario. But what if I’m trying and he doesn’t see eye-to-eye with me and so it really does turn out to be a wasteful date but also a sour one to joke about to his other male friends? I was letting this one date get too out of hand in determining his happiness and satisfaction of what he’ll gain through me. And that’s not what dates are about.

Little to my surprise, as nervous of a wreck I may have looked, Liam was the perfect gentleman that planned out everything for our evening together. I may have scored the first hard goal by asking him out but he made sure to play hard to make up for not asking me out sooner and took the game-play back to his side of the court. But nonetheless, I was nervous throughout.

So, it’s not an embarrassment to feel like Fester when it comes to asking someone out. The fear of the person saying no versus the bigger fear of the person saying yes is all good fun when you look back on it. It’s not just you, your date will probably be having this exact same Fester Chester attacks as well. So never forget, that we all have a little Fester inside of us and it’s nothing to be ashamed of.

3 thoughts on “Apologue #15: Fester Chester

  1. One of my male friends is hugely successful with women, somewhat surprising since he is not all that good looking (sorry Adam!), and he is quite arrogant, and quite short. But what he has is huge amounts of confidence and an ego as big as a house. He believes himself to be amazing, and therefore he is. His success with women is legendary! I once asked him how it does it, and he said that if you don’t ask you don’t get! It’s that simple apparently. He never takes any knockbacks personally, just moves onto the next opportunity.
    Good on you for having the confidence to ask a guy out first, I’m not sure why we girls don’t do this more!
    Jane x

    • I haven’t had many opportunities where I wanted to ask a guy out that often. It’s really much close to “once in a blue moon” kind of thing. It was quite the liberating experience and it does feel quite empowering when indeed it is successful. I believe in what your friend said to you, it couldn’t be simpler than “you don’t ask, you don’t get.” But it definitely falls on the category of “simpler said than done.” Wish asking someone out was always this easy 🙂

  2. Pingback: Apologue #33: Cheaters Always Prosper | love o'clock

Post Love Letters

